Tasmanian crew for women’s keelboat regatta

A talented crew of Tasmanian yachtswomen, headed by international sailor Jo Breen, has entered for the Australian Women’s Keelboat Regatta on Melbourne’s Port Philip in early June.

They will race the well-performed Sydney 38 class yacht, Chutzpah, in what is shaping up to be a record fleet of boats, crewed by women from all States and the Northern Territory.

To be held from 8-10 June, the Australian Women’s Keelboat Regatta is the premier yacht racing event in Australia for women crews, with 22 teams already entered.

The Tasmanian crew, comprising members of the Derwent Sailing Squadron, Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania and Bellerive Yacht Club, is:  Jo Breen (skipper/helm), Clare Brown (tactician), Colleen Darcy (main trimmer), Lauren Davison (bow), Lucy Rees (trimmer), Claire Cunningham (trimmer), Clare Dabner (mast), Tammara Potter (pit), Danielle McKay (float), Janene Frawley (float) and Mollie Granger (float).

Most of the team have sailed together and is largely the same team that went to Melbourne two years ago for the same event, skippered by Colleen Darcey, winning the IRC division overall in the Archambault 35, Absolut.

“This will be my first time driving at the AWKR and my second time competing in this great event,” said Jo Breen, who skippered her S&S 34,  Morning Star to second place overall in last year’s 5,000 nautical mile, double-handed race from Melbourne to Osaka in Japan.

In preparation for the AWKR, Breen and her team are training on the River Derwent in David Aplin’s MBD36, Whistler.

Words: Peter Campbell

Photos:  Peter Campbell, Peter Watson, Salty Dog Photography

22 April 2019

Back to news



Contact Form
23 Marieville Esplanade, Sandy Bay TAS 7005
Privacy Policy
Site by Gloo