DSS Pipe Opener celebrates 50th

Derwent Sailing Squadron and Huon Yacht Club’s opening event of the yachting season, the Pipe Opener Series, is celebrating its 50th this month, with an added status.

The Combined Clubs have included the popular Friday night race as part of this summer’s Offshore Trophy, with the finish of the race down the Derwent and the Channel extended to Garden Island near the mouth of the Huon River.

The Pipe Opener night race starts at 7.00pm on Friday, 21 September, and on Saturday afternoon the fleet from Hobart will join local boats in the traditional Cock of the Huon at Shipwrights Point. Rounding off the weekend is a race from Port Huon to Gordon.

In past years the Offshore Trophy winner has been decided on just the Maria Island and Bruny Island long offshore races, but this season the Pipe Opener and Bellerive Yacht Club’s Isle of Caves Overnight Race have been added to the series.

Significantly, this means that yachts competing in the long ocean races at Christmas will have three night races as part of their preparations:  The Pipe Opener next Friday, 21 September, the Isle of Caves Race on Wednesday, 24 October and the Maria Island Race starting on Friday, 16 November.

The fourth race in the Combined Clubs Offshore Trophy series will be the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania’s Bruny Island Race on Saturday, 9 February 2019.

Although entries for the Ronald Young & Co Builders Pipe Opener Series do not close until Wednesday week, 19 September, more than a dozen boats have already been nominated which DSS manager Shaun Tiedemann describes as “unprecedented, so far ahead of the event.”

Boats already entered include past Pipe Opener Series and Cock of the Huon winner Emotional Rescue, Michael Hutchinson’s Hobie 33.

Also on the early list are Launceston to Hobart winner Off-Piste, Paul Einoder’s Beneteau 34, Shaun Tiedemann’s Australian Yachting champion, the Sydney 36cr Philosopher which won the Offshore Trophy IRC and PHS pennants last season, and Combined Clubs summer Group 1 PHS series winner Tas Paints, Ian Stewart’s Mumm 36.

Two former Sydney Hobart winners, Filepro, the Tim Gadsby-helmed Lyons 40 and  Ultimate Challenge, Peter Jenkins’ Dubois 40 are also among early entries,  along with last summer’s Combined Clubs pennant winner Wings Three, Peter Haros’ Northshore 38, Tim Gadsby’s Filepro and Brent McKay’s Radford 35 Rad.

Entries are expected from Mike Pritchard’s Cookson 50 Oskana and David Aplin’s MBD35 Whistler, both of which are expected to contest the Melbourne to Hobart West Coaster this year.

Rolex Sydney Hobart entrant, Black Sheep, Rob Gourlay and Matthew Pilkington’s Beneteau 45 is also expected to contest the night race of the Pipe Opener.

Today will see the last of the club winter racing on the Derwent with the DSS scheduled to run the final race to decide winter pennants.

Words: Peter Campbell

Photos:  Peter Watson, Peter Campbell

8  September 2018

Back to news



Contact Form
23 Marieville Esplanade, Sandy Bay TAS 7005
Privacy Policy
Site by Gloo