Winter Winners at the Derwent Sailing Squadron

And the winners are - B&G Advantage, T42 Another Toy, Vistula and Team Musto – each taking out their respective divisions of the Derwent Sailing Squadron Winter Series that ended today.

The five days of Sunday morning racing ended with a blast as a 25-knot northerly, gusting to 39-knots, came howling down the Derwent.

Fortunately, most boats had finished racing, but crews were certainly not able to relax until their reached their marina berths. No post race damage was reported.

Scott Brain and the crew of Brainwave on the Derwent today.

Earlier, conditions were ideal for final race day of the DSS Battery World Winter Series, a steady 10--12 knot northerly with 27 boats turning out to race.

Jeff Cordell’s Mumm 36 B&G Advantage too out DivIsion 1 on a countback from the 8-metre Juana (Jock Young) after both had finish with a net 10 points.   B&G Advantages winning scorecard read: 3-1-5-(5)-1, Juana’s (4)-3-3-2-2.

In Division 2, the Latham Syndicate’s J24, 00T42 Another Toy, completed an unbeaten run of five wins in the Winter Series, discarding one of those wins to finish with a net 4 points.

Mark Ballard’s 42 South finished second overall with a net 10 points, Wildfire (John Ettershank) third with 11 points.

SB20s sailing boat for boat on the river today.

Just one point separated overall winner Vistula (Gregory Biskup) and Trad Jazz-NS (Christopher Thomson) in Division 3. Vistula finished with a net 7 points, Trad Jazz-NS on 8 points, taking second overall on a countback from Serenity (Graham Hall).

Winstead Wines (Neil Snare) won today’s Division 1 race, T42 Another Toy Division 2 and while Cool Change (Chris Bobbi) Division 3.

In the SB2s, Frazer Read) continued his winning form at the helm, winning both windward/leeward races, but as a casual entry.

Overall, the SB20 Winter pennant went to George Peacock with Team Musto, placing first among series entrants.  Over the winter Team Musto won three of the 12 races and never placed worse than fifth, to finish with a net 16 points.

Vistula won the DSS WInter Series Division 3 today.

Honey Badger (Paul Burnell) finished on 19 points, third going to Pride of Athena (Colleen Darcey) on 36 points.

Team Musto also won the PHS division of the SB20s from Pride of Athena and Honey Badger.

Words: Peter Campbell

Photos:  Michelle Denney

3 September 2017

Back to news



Contact Form
23 Marieville Esplanade, Sandy Bay TAS 7005
Privacy Policy
Site by Gloo