Yachting Hall of Fame honour to Matt Bugg

Rio Paralympic silver medallist Matt Bugg has been inducted into the Tasmanian Yachting Hall of Fame and also again named Tasmanian Male Sailor of the Year.

The honour was announced last evening at Yachting Tasmania’s annual sailing awards, held at the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania,  with Bugg joining a prestigious list of outstanding sailors in the Hall of Fame.

Bugg, a member of the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania and the Derwent Sailing Squadron, was recognised for his continued international success in the 2.4mR class following his silver medal at the Rio Paralympics.

He recently won the a silver medal  at the Para World Sailing championships a Kiel, Germany and is currently ranked world number one in the 2.4 class.

Gilbert Leitch, Matt Bugg and Mike Darby were inducted in Yachting Tasmania;s Hall of Fame.

Other DSS members/staff to receive awards were Gilbert Leitch, Michelle Edwards (Denney), Jeremy Parker, Alice Buchanan, Brendan Crisp, David Graney, Graeme Wood and Anna Cerneaz  .

Also inducted into the Hall of Fame were Mike Darby of the Wynyard Yacht Club and Gilbert Leitch from Derwent Sailing Squadron.  Both men have been outstanding workers for their clubs with Leitch also involved in many sailing events on the Derwent.

Female Sailor of the Year is teenage Sandy Bay Sailing Club and Derwent Sailing Squadron member Alice Buchanan, recognised for her versatile sailing in youth off-the-beach dinghy classes, including Optimists and 29ers. She is the third generation of sailors in the Buchanan family.

Female Sailor of the Year Alice Buchanan with Yachting Tasmania president RIchard Batt.

The Outstanding Youth Achievement award went to Brendan Crisp (DSS Member) and Daniel Maree for their outstanding performance in winning the Australian Flying 11 Championships (first ever Tasmanian win).

Midway Point Yacht Club was named Club of the Year for its development of club facilities and its successful staging of state and national championships, including the B14 nationals last summer.

The Yachting Personality of the Year award went to Derwent Sailing Squadron Members Graeme Wood and Anna Cerneaz for their work in setting up and maintaining the Athena Sailing Program for woman. Athena sailor Colleen Darcey accepted the awards on their behalf and read a message from Wood.

Disabled Sailor of the Year award went Chris Symonds from Wynyard Yacht Club for his 2016 World Championship and 2017 National Championship wins in the 303 dinghy class.

Joint winners of the Offshore Sailor of the Year award for the Bennetto Cup were Richard Grant (Cromarty Magellan) for winning the Corinthian Division in his first Sydney to Hobart Race, and DSS Member David Graney for his crewing in the Clipper Round the World Race, including being one of two watch captains.

Greg Rowlings was named Administrator/Sport Professional of the Year, recognising his development of The Hutchins School sailing scheme

Joint winners of the Bennetto Medal were RIchard Grant and David Graney, with YT president Richard Batt..

Richard Scarr, Matt Bugg’s coach and Tasmanian State Sailing Coach,  was named Coach of the Year.  Scarr is currently coaching Tasmanian sailors at the 29er World championships in California with his award accepted in a moving speech by his partner Philippa Calvert.

The new Instructor of the Year award went to Jeremy Parker, the Derwent Sailing Squadron RYA trainer.

As MC Greg Rowlings put it: “Without volunteers we would not be able to successfully conduct our sport” and this year has seen joint winners of the Volunteer of Year award:  Michelle (Edward) Denney at the DSS and Michael Gluskie at the RYCT.

Michelle has been in the race management teams of major events on the Derwent, also finding time to take excellent photos for social media, yachting magazines and daily newspapers.

Michael was recognised for work at an RYCT race officer and with schools team racing.  Earlier this year, the RYCT award him the Past Commodores’ Trophy for Services to Yachting.

Words and photos:  Peter Campbell

6 August 2017

Back to news



Contact Form
23 Marieville Esplanade, Sandy Bay TAS 7005
Privacy Policy
Site by Gloo